17 October 2009
Through the generosity of 2 dear friends, I was privileged to attend the Texas v OU Red River Rivalry game at the Cottonbowl inside the State Fair of Texas. Although I have no emotional attachment to either team playing, my friends are both Texas alum thus the seats we had were in the Texas end-zone. I am not an American football fan. I have tried to be and I do, in fact, watch a lot of American football. But, I watch it for the atmosphere and the people, not the game. I think the rules are clumsy & overly complex, I think it’s a slow plodding game that takes WAY too long to play and the periods of excitement are too few and far between. But, these are just my opinions and I long ago caved to the reality that this sport will forever be the foremost sport in America and that it cannot on any real level be compared to the sports of my heart: Associated Football (soccer), Rugby, Gaelic Football & Australian Rules Football. All of these sports share common roots but have evolved and devolved into completely separate non-comparable sports. I accept that. But, let me continue by saying that I have never been to an event that was smothered in so much passion & excitement and intensity by the fans. It was a one-of-a-kind event and a true highlight of my year.
During one of the many times that the UT fans stood in solidarity and displayed their unique hand-symbol, I took this photo.
Hook 'Em
It was a truly amazing day.

Cheers.

~KR (Written on 23 October 2009)

Listening to:
No. 5 by Hollywood Undead
from Swan Songs

Camera: Canon PowerShot SD870 IS
Exposure: 0.004 sec (1/250)
Aperture: f/8.0
Focal Length: 4.6 mm
ISO Speed: 80
Exposure Bias: 0 EV
Flash: Auto, Did not fire