Brave Colour

10 August 2009

I experienced a first today. Until today, I had never had my hair professionally coloured.

In the eighties, I used to regularly “henna” my hair. It was a painstaking process involving what looked and felt much like mud with little grassy bits in it, all over my head, and then wrapping my head in a plastic bag while it slowly stained my hair. I did it myself. I have natural red highlights anyway, and the henna really brought out the red, almost making the darker hair the accent colour. Hmmm . . . I had forgotten how much I enjoyed the look. But, actual “colour”—never before.

Now, before anyone tries to accuse me of covering my grey, let me assure you that is not my style. In fact, I treasure every silly little, kinky silver strand that appears on my head. My mother has absolutely beautiful salt and pepper hair, at 72! So, I am hopeful that my hair will do similarly pretty things as I age.

Nope, what I did today, I’ve wanted to do for a long time, and finally got the nerve to make happen while I was here in Wisconsin with a master hairdresser as a nearby friend. And it doesn’t cover any of my grey wisps. I now have a very small segment of the length of my hair, just behind my left ear, that is a combination of teal green and royal blue, making the most lovely blend of peacock-y colour I’ve ever seen! I love it. It’s such a small section of hair that when I pull my hair into a bun it’s invisible. But, I know it’s there! And, when my hair is down, or when I want to braid that little “tail” as an accent . . . it’s so cool! I feel a little bit naughty and a whole lot excited!  My thanks to Kelly for her encouragement, Chad Fabulous for his expertise, and Sherrie Phillips for her inspiration!

My photo shows the colour pretty well. So far, everyone who’s seen it likes it. I sure hope Kyle will, too! He’ll be here in just a couple of days, so I don’t have long to wait. Yay!

~MB