Revised Red Ruffles

3 August 2009

This is a shot of the new and improved cancan skirt that Ginger will be wearing in our Folk Dance Showcase Wednesday night. I had completed two all new cancan skirts for girls who hadn’t danced a cancan with me before, and Ginger’s older skirt was decidedly bare in comparison. So, I beefed up her formerly four-ruffled skirt so she now has nine fabulous rows of red and white ruffles! Oooh-la-la!

I’ve been showing off ruffles, and “dancing” around the subject of this show for days, now, without ever giving the details. The cancan is just one number in a show that ought to run about an hour and a half. So, here goes:

In April, Jim Lillquist, talented Renaissance musician and the man behind the Gypsy Guerilla Band, contacted me and asked me if I’d be interested in working on a Folk Dance show at Bristol this summer. It sounded like a great idea to me, and before too many messages had passed between us, we were outlining the show and agreeing to be partners in making it happen.

That was a while ago, and I’m still not sure we really knew what we were getting into, but, now the week of the show is here! Jim gathered the musicians, and I recruited dancers. Musicians and dancers have been working hard for weeks, now, to pull this together, and it’s going to be great fun! The show is Wednesday evening, August 5th at 7 p.m. Tickets are five dollars in advance, available from me, or Jim, or Gail, or Cindy, or Kimbelle. If you show up the night of the performance, your ticket will cost you ten dollars. But, that’s okay, too, ’cause all the ticket money is a donation to RESCU. We even got permission to sell tickets to our patron friends and gate list them to get into the site that night. Everybody who is anybody will be here!

Except Kyle. Sadly, Kyle and I miscommunicated on this one. I agreed to do the show on this date, based on Kyle’s willingness to travel to Wisconsin, rather than me going home for our anniversary. And, then, somewhere in the weeks in between, the details fell through the cracks and the window of opportunity for Kyle to arrange to work in Chicago and be here on that Wednesday, closed. So, much to our chagrin and disappointment, I will be here, dancing a cancan, and he will be in Texas, and our “I love yous” by phone will have to carry us through our wedding anniversary this year.

We will, however, be together the very next week, when he comes for his annual visit on Milwaukee Irish Fest weekend, and we will make up for the whole anniversary snafu that weekend!

But, in the meantime, I am up to my eyeballs in ruffles and rehearsals—wishing as always for another week or so before the event!

~MB