Yellow Paqrking Lot Flowers

30 July 2009

Thanks to the marvels of modern technology, I found out very late Wednesday night that a bunch of my friends were planning a breakfast outing. I was determined to include myself in that adventure, so at barely 7 a.m., Kelly called to wake me up, and I was ready to leave the site by 7:45 or so. We went to Frank’s Diner in Kenosha, and crowded nine of us into two tiny little booths and proceeded to have a wonderful time. Frank’s is one of those charming little places that sports both the surliest and the friendliest service you’ll ever run across—from the same people! It’s a place that when you feel your coffee cup has been empty too long, instead of flagging down an already overworked server, you simply get up, go behind the little counter, grab the pot and pour your own. But, if you do that, they then expect you to offer coffee to everyone else in the restaurant as well! I did that today!

The little yellow flowers were in the parking lot across the street from Frank’s. I don’t know what they are, but they are charming.

The rest of the day was a crazy combination of sewing, dancing, researching, writing, and more dancing. Whew!

~MB