28 June 2009
As is our wont right now, and because it can’t last much longer, we slept in on Sunday finally rising to have a cup of coffee followed by Bloody Marys. This Sunday, we were excited to also have Mandy join us. Since she is normally in Austin, we were delighted to welcome her to our home. Around 13:30 or so, I left the house and went to No Frills Grill to watch the US vs Brazil Confederations Cup final with Terrill & Bryan. We were later joined by Brett (his wife and eldest daughter stayed in the restaurant while we were in the bar) and soon after that my wife and Mandy joined us. The game did not play out as fantasised, but the US Men’s National Team made a right game of it and gave Brazil what for for nearly 50 minutes. Brazil finally pulled back and won the game 3-2, but there’s next to nothing in that US MNT performance to be ashamed of. Good on you, boys!
As the game ended and folks started to leave, I found myself with a decision to make: Go home and rest up for my soccer game that evening or continue to relax in the company of Marita Beth and Mandy. My decision was made when Ken & his wife Denise called and suggested dinner. Nice timing, Ken! So, we happy three (Marita Beth, Mandy and myself) headed to BlackFinn in the Arlington Highlands. Ken & Denise met us there for dinner, drinks & fun.
Good Friends
I later tweeted “chose not to play my soccer game this evening;spent in the company of great friends instead.I can’t be made to feel guilty about that” and I stand by that statement. I apologize to my teammates who had to play with no substitutes for 90 minutes in the North Texas heat, but I made the right decision. There are still more games to play, but dinner with Mandy, Ken, Denise & Marita Beth was too rare an opportunity to pass.
Cheers.

~KR (Written on 29 June 2009)

Listening to:
At Night by the Cure
from Paris (Live)

Camera: Canon PowerShot SD850 IS
Exposure: 0.25 sec (1/4)
Aperture: f/2.8
Focal Length: 5.8 mm
ISO Speed: 200
Exposure Bias: 0 EV
Flash: Off, Did not fire