6 June 2009
The Texas Scottish Festival held in Arlington every year on the first weekend of June. Every year I say, "I just spent the last 8 weeks in heat and humidity. I don’t think I’m going to go this year." Every year, I go. Every year, Marita Beth goes through the same routine, but this year she really did choose to stay at home in the comfort of the air conditioning and I went on to the Scottish Games, by myself. Luckily, and is always the case, I have lots of great friends and many of them were there. I found Stephen Bishop almost straight off and he and I ambled back to the Glengarry Tent (the "Celtic Rock" venue) where we located Terrill. The heat eventually got to Stephen and he left us, but Terrill & I stayed and enjoyed the music until quite late. We ran into a great many other friends, too: Rod, Kara, Mike, Matthew, Branwen, Bryan, Bobby, Paige, Mark, Alice, Bill & Wendy…and the list could go on! I missed out on a few that I’m certain were there but never located like Steve, Linda and Ken. The music was excellent, as always and at one point Alex Beaton got on stage with Brother to do a Will Ye Go Lassie/Gravelwalk medley that covered me in goosebumps. It was very definitely a passing of the torch sort of tribute as Alex Beaton is no longer a spring chicken, while Brother is a fantastic young band with many years ahead of them (here’s hoping). The beer was excellent, Belhaven and Rahr co-sponsored this year so it was easy to flip back and forth between Belhaven Stout, Twisted Thistle and the incredibly tasty Rahr Iron Thistle (what a GREAT beer!). And then there’s the food. I stay away from faire food, but truly I can’t get enough of Scottish Festival food – at least this Scottish Festival’s food. Between the Caledonian Kitchens, who provided the Cornish meat pie for this photo
meat_pie
and the Oz Highland Farms who provided my most excellent Scottish Beef burger much later on, it’s just good eating! Friends, music, beer & food – what more could one want? Oh yeah, decent weather. Although this year was less miserable than most it was hot & sticky and I worked up a hell of a sweat just sitiing in the shade. Maybe some day, the temperature will be in the 80s rather than the mid-90s. Until then, I expect I’ll go through my typical "I’m not sure I want to go this year" verbal sparring match. Who knows who will win next year. Air Conditioning or Scottish Games.
Cheers.

~KR (Written on 8 June 2009)

Front Seat by Dropkick Murphys
from The Singles Collection

Camera: Canon PowerShot SD850 IS
Exposure: 0.003 sec (1/320)
Aperture: f/8.0
Focal Length: 5.8 mm
ISO Speed: 80
Exposure Bias: 0 EV
Flash: Off