27 May 2009
Each year, if the teams warrant it, I take a half-day from work and go watch the Champion’s League final at a local bar. This year, Terrill joined me, and a small sub-section of my futbol team at BlackFinn American Saloon in Arlington. I walked in sporting my Barcelona cap, for I am a Barcelona fan. It’s true that Arsenal is and will always be my first futbol love, but I have a team in most of the major European powerhouses (England: Arsenal. Spain: Barcelona. Netherlands: Ajax. France: Marseille. Scotland: Hearts. Greece: Panathanikos. Germany: Bayern) that I support. It can make some of the European cups quite emotionally turbulent in my little brain. But on this day, it was Barcelona vs Manchester United. And that, my friends, is an absolute no-brainer: Barcelona all the way!!! Of course, my futbol team all showed up sporting ManU(re) colours in the shape of hats, scarfs and shirts and Terrill professed neutrality. There were several other ManU fans in the saloon as well so when Barcelona scored first on 10′, I was the only person in the entire place clapping and laughing and strutting like a clown. Whoops – all eyes on me. On 78′ when Barcelona went 2 up on the strength of a sublime Messi header, I went nuts and again…all eyes on me. I sat silent the remainder of the game chewing on my nails and sipping my beer relishing the relative quiet of the rest of the bar. Hah!
Final: Barcelona 2 Manchester United 0
and Barcelona are crowned European Champions for the 2nd time in 3 years knocking ManU off their (admittedly well-deserved) throne. It was a happy day!

My dog Cormac is a Barcelona fan, too.
Cormac's a Barcelona Fan
Cheers.

~KR (Written on 1 June 2009)

Listening to:
Try Not to Breathe by R.E.M.
from Automatic for the People

Camera: Canon PowerShot SD850 IS
Exposure: 0.02 sec (1/50)
Aperture: f/2.8
Focal Length: 5.8 mm
ISO Speed: 200
Exposure Bias: 0 EV
Flash: Off