25 May 2009
Memorial Day (Observed) here in the U.S. I’ve never been what one would call a "Proud American." I’ve been dismayed, disillusioned and frustrated by American policy for most of my life. My father, a war veteran gave his heart, career and soul to the United States Army and yet they had no use for him. So, in the late 70s, all of a sudden my father found himself without a job, without a career and with a young wife and two small children to care for. Yeah. Go Army. Yet, through all this cynicism and self-professed dislike for the country in which I accidentally was born, I find myself with a deep-abiding pride of my country-men. No where in the world will you find such an incredible array of servants that give and give and give for their country their entire lives. I’m not one of them nor will I ever be, but every year on Memorial Day, I am moved to tears by these brave, beautiful men and women that march proudly through the streets of our Scarborough Faire village wearing a Yellow Ribbon. They march in unison and every step of the way they are applauded by the good people of the village – both residents and visitors alike. Some day, I hope to be brave enough and selfless enough to be like them.

Still without my camera, I used Mike’s camera to get this shot of his wife.
Brandy
Cheers

~KR (Written on 28 May 2009)

Listening to:
The Swing by INXS
from The Swing

Camera: Nikon D40X
Exposure: 0.008 sec (1/125)
Aperture: f/4.8
Focal Length: 116 mm
Focal Length: 116.5 mm
ISO Speed: 1100
Exposure Bias: 0 EV
Flash: Off, Did not fire