24 March 2009
Our friend Stephen went under the knife on the 25th for much-needed heart surgery. To "celebrate" this, several of us went to Carrabba’s for dinner with him since it will be Stephen’s last chance for a good dinner out for a while. How long a while, I don’t yet know. I’m not a fan of Italian food on the best of days since I suffer debilitating gastronomic reactions to onions, garlic & tomatoes, and I simply don’t like fungus. It’s hard for me to find a reasonably priced meal that is worth the suffering. We did settle on a Veal Piccatta that, while tasty, wasn’t worth the price in my opinion. The wine, however – a delightful Ruffino Chianti that pert played on my tongue – and the company more than made up for the lack of culinary choice. And, since this was about Stephen, not me, the opportunity to have this dinner with him was too special to pass.
Cork, Chianti & Kelly
Update: Stephen came through with flying colours. Those who have seen him (I have not yet gone to the hospital) say he’s looking good and despite the soreness, is in good spirits.
Cheers.

~KR (Written on 26 March 2009)

Listening to:
Machine Gun by Portishead
from Third

Camera: Canon PowerShot SD850 IS
Exposure: 0.25 sec (1/4)
Aperture: f/2.8
Focal Length: 5.8 mm
ISO Speed: 800
Exposure Bias: 0 EV
Flash: Off