My Florida Bedroom

22 January 2009

On not nearly enough sleep, I got on a plane this morning and came to Florida! I have made this January trip for a number of years, now, and it’s a special week for me and my mama.

Originally, the annual visit was in January because of my grandmother’s birthday. But, when Gammy died, I decided there was no reason why this shouldn’t still be a yearly opportunity for some quality time with my mother. So, it’s been two years, now, since we lost Gammy, and I am here, enjoying the leisurely lifestyle of the semi-retired.

We’ll do a whole lot of nuthin’ and love every minute of it. We’ll shop, and eat, and chat, and look at photos, and play games. We’ll laugh a lot, and cry a little. We’ll watch some sappy movies. We’ll even argue a bit about politics and whether the eggshells go in the trash or the garbage disposal . . . but I wouldn’t trade this week for anything in the world.

Thank you, Kyle, for making it possible for me to have this week with Mama. I miss you.

~MB