UPDATED
Hello from sunny, lovely London. I’m writing this from the comfort of the Radisson Edwardian Hotel just near London Heathrow Airport. At the moment, we are having a devil of a time getting photos to upload and work properly in Flickr. So, until we suss that out, we will be posting journal entries and then adding the photos in later.

The 24th, Christmas Eve, started as any day does; I went to work. I hugged the dogs goodbye and kissed my wife, then trundled off to the office. Did my normal Wednesday bits, but by 10am, I was ready to go. Time ticked by slowly – oh so slowly – until 1255 at which time, I went downstairs and checked us both in. I checked us in to 2 & 3 on the Standby list which was a good omen. Over the next hour, I monitored the list and saw us sink slowly down the list, but still within the realm of reality. The lovely Ginger took MB and I to the airport leaving my car in the relative security of the HDQ parking garage. We breezed through security at Terminal D and went straight to Tigin (deciding to exchange some currency on the way) where we had lunch and a couple of Guinness. Forty minutes ahead of our flight we walked to the gate and arrived just as our names dropped off the Standby list and on to the Cleared list. Looking up. When our names were called, we went forward, gate checked the one bag we couldn’t carry on and received our tickets: First Class to LHR – when the benefits work, they work oh, so well!
DFW to LHR in Class
We were greeted with Champagne and two of the nicest flight attendants I’ve ever had the pleasure to fly with who showed us to our seats. We settled in.
During the flight, I enjoyed the most recent offering in the Mummy movie series, part of I Am Legend (I fell asleep) and part of Get Smart (we arrived with about 15 minutes left in the movie). I also enjoyed an excellent dinner (Beef with a Mango Chipotle Glaze served with Cubed Blue Cheese Potatoes), a long nap and a marvelous breakfast (some Florentine omelet thing). I do so enjoy flying in First Class.
The remainder of the day is technically Christmas Day, so I will continue in a Christmas Day post.
Cheers

~KR(Written on 26 December 2008 )

Watching:
The Importance of Being Earnest
on the Telly in my Hotel room in London.

Camera: Canon PowerShot SD850 IS
Exposure: 0.1 sec (1/10)
Aperture: f/2.8
Focal Length: 5.8 mm
ISO Speed: 200
Exposure Bias: 0/3 EV
Flash: Flash did not fire