11 December 2008
I had a dream as a child, well several dreams actually, but we will focus on this particular dream for this particular post.I dreamt of being an artist. Not a starving, not-respected-til-I-was-dead artist, but a well established, quality artist with pieces of work hanging in Motel 6s all over the country. Like most of my dreams this one, too, did not materialize fully. In fact, it disintegrated to such a point that I effectively gave up all forms of artistic expression in favour of programming code, playing football and savouring beer. But, as middle-age hit hard and I began thinking about all those things I didn’t do, but wanted to do, pen & ink reared it’s unfulfilled ugly head and I began sketching again. I’ll never be as good as my friends Bill Pritchett, or Brian Denham. I’ll never even be as good as my childhood heroes, Steve Ditko & Jack Kirby. Heck, I’ll never be as good (or as surreal) as Dave McKean or Bill Sienkiewicz. But, that doesn’t mean I can’t put pencil to paper and doodle (with purpose) my little heart out.
Woman on Cell
So, I do. Almost daily. In this photo of a recent sketch during a conference call, if you squeeze your eyes just so, and tilt your head to the left, you might make out the back of a young woman who is talking on a cell phone. At least that’s what I intended to draw. I was never very good at the human figure, abstracts, landscapes & architectural renderings being more my norm. Anyway, that’s a little bit of me.
Cheers.

~KR (Written on 15 December 2008 )

Listening to:
Snowblind by +/- (Plus/Minus)
from Xs on Your Eyes

Camera: Canon PowerShot SD850 IS
Exposure: 0.04 sec (1/25)
Aperture: f/2.8
Focal Length: 5.8 mm
ISO Speed: 200
Exposure Bias: 0 EV
Flash: Flash did not fire