10 December 2008
I’ve never been one, really, for decorating. I’m learning to appreciate it on certain levels. How could I not with my wife being the decorating fiend that she is. But, it’s been a long road. And, one of my overwhelming pet peeves is the appearance and disappearance of Christmas lights & decorations.
In our modern society, it seems that Christmas lights go up on Thanksgiving and come down on the 26th of December. I detest that, really I do. If you are going to take the time to decorate, then take the time to learn the reasons and the history behind the decorations. In our Western, heavily Christian culture, we celebrate Christmas as a religious holiday surrounding the birth of Christ. Why take down the decorations and cease the celebrations the day after the birth? Why not leave the decorations up until the season is over – which coincides with Epiphany, the day the Magi arrived? The song, the Twelve Days of Christmas ends on this day, but sadly (or happily) we no longer hear the song after Christmas Day? What happened that caused people to abandon the ritual and the decorations surrounding what is arguably the most celebrated festival in the world? There are so many traditions and fests and activities and beliefs surrounding this day in so many major religions, I find it sad that even I, who doesn’t much care for decorations, miss them when they are gone so very suddenly and with no apparent care for why they were there in the first place.
Christmas Lights
Cheers.

~KR (Written on 15 December 2008 )

Listening to:
Levi Stubb’s Tears by Dave Stewart & Barbara Gaskin
from The Big Idea

Camera: Canon PowerShot SD850 IS
Exposure: 0.3 sec (3/10)
Aperture: f/2.8
Focal Length: 5.8 mm
ISO Speed: 200
Exposure Bias: 0/3 EV
Flash: Flash did not fire