25 October 2008
I went to No Frills Grill this morning to have my Saturday dose of College Football and beer. Jill, Brett & later, Dave, joined me. On the way there, I’d stopped for some much-needed groceries at Kroger. Still in "Red" mode, I snapped this photo of a Bacardi Rum Runner bottle.
Parrot on Red
As I was leaving Kroger having checked myself out at the really cool & easy-to-use self-checkout lanes, the alarms went off as I exited. I had bought some expensive OTC medicine so I’m not really surprised that there is an RFID tag in them. I was surprised that it went off on me. So, I went back inside with my bag open prepared to show my receipt. What I got was a whole bunch of blank or accusing stares from employees, but not a single offer of assistance. I finally asked the nearest employee, "What would you like me to do?" His reply? "Well, you could go stand in line at Customer Service." I looked at the Customer Service line, thinking "it is the responsible thing to do" but after seeing the 8 (or so) people in the line, I quickly changed my thought to, "if they’re gonna accuse me, they can come get me." I turned on my heel and walked back through the sensors, which, of course, went off again. I ambled, intentionally slowly, to my car. I took off my shoe and dumped out a bit of rock that had wormed its way in. I turned on the engine and rolled down all the windows. Essentially, I gave them every opportunity to confront me; they did not. So, I ask, what is the purpose of those sensors at the door if the employees or management are not going to do anything when the claxons go off? What a waste of money.
Cheers.

~KR (Written on 27 October 2008 )

Listening to:
Cowboys and Angels by George Michael
from Ladies & Gentlemen

Camera: Canon PowerShot SD850 IS
Exposure: 0.025 sec (1/40)
Aperture: f/2.8
Focal Length: 5.8 mm
ISO Speed: 200
Exposure Bias: 0/3 EV
Flash: Flash did not fire