10 October 2008
I do a lot of grumbling about my job, my industry and travel in general. But, every so often, I do like my job and make good use of the benefits it affords. I needed to take a personal trip from Dallas/Ft. Worth to Houston to help my wife with the opening week of TRF. I could have driven the 4 1/2 hours, but that would have cost considerably more than grabbing a non-rev flight. There was some initial trepidation that Mary & I would not make the suddenly-crowded flight, but in the end we did.
The way the crumbs shook out of this particular cookie enabled Mary & I to even grab first class seats for the journey. Normally, for the trip to IAH from DFW I don’t even worry about trying to get first class because the trip is so short. But, it’s always pleasant enough when it happens. This time around, we suffered a mechanical delay (an overhead bin wouldn’t latch shut and by law the plane cannot fly in that condition), so the Purser came by to take drink orders. I certainly am not one to pass on that, so I ordered a Scotch, while Mary ordered a cranberry juice. At that moment, the sun showed up just over the terminal and at just the right angle. I grabbed my camera and took this photo:
Scotch & Cranberry Juice
Cheers.

~KR (Written on 14 October 2008 )

Listening to:
El Dia de los Muertos by Siouxsie and the Banshees
from Down Side Up (CD 3)

Camera: Canon PowerShot SD850 IS
Exposure: 0.003 sec (1/320)
Aperture: f/2.8
Focal Length: 5.8 mm
ISO Speed: 80
Exposure Bias: 0/3 EV
Flash: Flash did not fire