26 September 2008
A day of wonderment, excitement, trepidation, worry & some fear. This is the day that I have been waiting for and saving for. This is the day I have LASIK performed.
Last Saturday, I filled out an online form at my chosen LASIK physician; by Monday, I had an appointment for a consultation, and if necessary, a pre-op. Everything in the consultation and the pre-op went swimmingly so the very next day, I scheduled a 4pm appointment to have my eyeballs cut open and reshaped. So, on this 26th of September, my wife took me to work where I did the necessary things and finalized a few outstanding issues, then she came back and picked me up just around 1500. I took the proffered Valium they had given me and settled into the drive. We arrived at the Dr.’s office where Matt greeted us and almost immediately put some flushing drops in my eyes. A couple of rounds of that, and 15 minutes or so later, they called me to the back. I put on my little hair cover, kissed my wife and went to the back. Eight minutes later, I emerged to a clear but fuzzy world and my wife took me home. I won’t go into the procedure, but suffice it to say it was not nearly as pain-free as I had been led to believe; however, it certainly wasn’t as painful as it could have been. I mean the eye is a very sensitive part of the body, right? I slept for a couple of hours with my goggles pulled tight about my head – they gave me goggles to wear so that I don’t rub my eyes in my sleep. When I got up, the little amounts of light in the house were painful, and watching TV was an absolute no-go. I took the suggested sleeping tablet and went back to bed after taking a photo.
Goggle Lens
Let me suggest to you all. On the day you have LASIK surgery, do all your photography before the procedure. With the Valium & the sleeping tablet & the pain & the world being fuzzy/hazy, I had to rely 100% on the camera knowing what to do, because I sure couldn’t tell.
I have to wear these goggles for another 3 days, then I hope to turn them into some sort of Steampunky yumminess.
Cheers.

~KR (Written on 29 September 2008 )

Listening to:
On Your Porch by The Format
from Veronica Mars

Camera: Canon PowerShot SD850 IS
Exposure: 0.6 sec (3/5)
Aperture: f/2.8
Focal Length: 5.8 mm
ISO Speed: 200
Exposure Bias: 0/3 EV
Flash: Flash did not fire