Rain

4 September 2008

Remember the old party game where the host or hostess brings out a tray containing twenty or thirty little items, lets you look at it all for about one minute, then takes away the tray and asks you to write down as many of the items as you can recall?  And remember how the paper clips and spoons and haircombs and screwdrivers all run together in your head and you end up remembering very little of what you see?

That’s the way this photo makes me feel.  Overwhelmed and a little disappointed I didn’t do better.

This is my booth after a disjointed day of packing in the rain. 

It was late, late Thursday night before I remembered to take a photo.  I cannot believe I never snapped even one photo of the rain-soaked packing process, but c’est la vie!    The rain began at four a.m.  I know, because I was up using the privy at about three, and could not get back to sleep.  It was the rain that was my lullaby and I was grateful for it.  Of course, I didn’t know then that it was going to rain with no respite for an entire twenty-hour period. 

Departure couldn’t be delayed more than a few hours—Friday would see us leave one way or the other.  So, pack in the rain we must, so pack in the rain we did.

But, finally,  it was too dark, and we were too cold and wet, and we called it a night around eight o’clock and went and enjoyed some pizza and Pepsi wth friends.

~MB