Celtic Twilight

5 September 2008

I know that the autumnal equinox doesn’t actually happen until the 22nd of September.  But, for me, when I drive away from the Bristol Renaissance Faire, the summer is over.  I did that today.

After being thrown behind my own schedule by the rain, I aimed for a 10 a.m. departure, hoping I’d be gone by noon.  I took my time, and pulled away at about 12:30 p.m.  Then, I ran a couple of errands (including taking this photo) and actually was on the highway by about 1:45.  A little over ten hours later, I arrived safely, at William’s house.

Artemis travelled like the old pro she is, the truck and trailer did fine, and the only issue was my own boredom.  Fortunately, since it was a Friday night, I had my favourite radio programming to keep me company—XM’s Folk Village Channel broadcasts five wonderful hours every Friday night (5 to 10 p.m.) of Celtic music.  They call it Celtic Twilight, and I love it.  Between the radio and the telephone (I had a wonderful conversation with my mama!), I managed to stay relatively sane, and awake! 

~MB