1 September 2008
I had to run to the storage unit for something yesterday. As I exited the building (it wasn’t there when I went in), I saw this creature
Fuzzy....
I have absolutely no idea what it is; it looks to me like it originated in Jim Henson’s Creature Shop.

UPDATE:
According to Chris Sanson, Ph.D., an Associate Professor and Extension Entomologist for the Extension Entomology program at Texas A&M:

It is a southern flannel moth (in the family Megalopygidae), Megalopyge opercularis . See http://bugguide.net/node/view/4905 for a description. Like many of the flannel moths, the caterpillar have stinging hairs that can be problematic.

Cheers.

~KR (Written on 2 September 2008 )

Listening to:
Runaway by Del Shannon

Camera: Canon PowerShot SD850 IS
Exposure: 0.003 sec (1/400)
Aperture: f/2.8
Focal Length: 5.8 mm
ISO Speed: 80
Exposure Bias: 0/3 EV
Flash: Flash did not fire