5 August 2008
Happy Anniversary, baby!
13 sensationally marvelous years.
Because of the hours I’ve been working lately, and the vagaries & uncertainties of non-rev travel, I did not plan anything overtly special for our anniversary figuring that if she did indeed get home from afar that just being together would be enough. Turns out I was right. 🙂
With only one car at home, she took me to work this morning and picked me up when the day was done. We immediately headed into downtown Ft. Worth knowing that we could find a variety of things to do in Sundance Square. We did. First, though, as we walked around the area, I saw this topiary longhorn. Just seeing it rattled a branch in the far-flung tree of my memory and I took it’s photo for comparison:
Topiary Longhorn
Back in January, I was in downtown Ft. Worth with a vendor from out of town, and he marvelled at the sight of the topiary wrapped in burlap to protect against the angry elements of a Texas "winter." Being from Denver, CO, I’m guessing topiary longhorns are a rarity.
Anyway, from this bush beast, we descended on a bar we didn’t know was there, Durty Murphy’s. Nice place even if it is a smoker’s haven and the decoration-only bartender has NO clue how to build a proper Guinness. One pint of Guinness, part of a Zon (from Boulevard Brewing) and a shot of Forty Creek (complements of the Republic Liquors representative) later, we departed and headed for food. We settled on Cabo Grande where the wee wife discovered fish tacos. She really liked them. After that, it was back home to a relaxing evening in the house with the wife & dogs. Nothing special turned into very special. It was a lovely day and the best 13th wedding Anniversary I have ever had.
Cheers.

~KR (Written on 8 August 2008 )

Listening to:
Oh What a Lovely War by Brother
from The Terrain Around Here is Far Too Dangerous

Camera: Canon PowerShot SD850 IS
Exposure: 0.006 sec (1/160)
Aperture: f/2.8
Focal Length: 5.8 mm
ISO Speed: 80
Exposure Bias: 0/3 EV
Flash: Flash did not fire