15 July 2008
On my way home last night, I started hearing thunder rumbles in the distance. What a welcome sound. The North Texas area has, for the last few days, had a 20% chance of rain; but nary a drop has fallen anywhere near me. Since my yard was getting extraordinarily crunchy, I was hopeful. My hope turned to reality as the first few sprinkles hit my windshield while I was still 14 miles or so from my house. The closer I got to my house, the harder the rain came down until, by the time I was turning onto my street my visibility had been reduced to no more than 20 meters or so. I had been hoping for rain, and by golly I got it. I went in, let the dogs out into the torrents and then got my camera. I tried a number of things, but couldn’t really capture the sheer volume of rain dropping from the low-hanging clouds. Until I looked to my left and saw this veritable waterfall pouring from my roof.
Waterfall
So little rain actually falls in our area I’ve never bothered with gutters, and I’m not sure they would have helped in this case anyway. The rain was simply coming too hard and too fast to be contained.
Cheers.
~KR (Written on 1 July 2008 )

Listening to:
I Don’t Like Mondays by Boomtown Rats

Camera: Canon PowerShot SD850 IS
Exposure: 0.8 sec (4/5)
Aperture: f/4
Focal Length: 11.8 mm
ISO Speed: 80
Exposure Bias: 0 EV
Flash: Flash did not fire
Software: picnik.com