The Hungery Hunter Monday, Nov 19 2007 

13 November 2007
After a very long day in which I trained a bunch of people, took a break, trained a bunch of people, ate lunch, trained a bunch of people, took a break and trained a bunch of people, I was tired and hungry. The In-And-Out burger just didn't hold me over and I really wanted a beer. The previous night while out, I had spied a promising looking restaurant just down from my hotel, so off I went, not even bothering to stop and change clothes. The restaurant was called The Hungry Hunter and apparently has been serving the city of South San Francisco (The Industrial City) for some forty years.
Hungry Hunter
I walked into an immense (45 minutes or more) waiting list, so went on into the bar to wait. Luckily, they serve food in the bar, too. I got myself a simple lager called, appropriately enough, The Hunter, and tucked into the menu. The Hungry Hunter? Since when does one hunt cow? That's pretty much the menu. Cow of various types, shapes & sizes. But, that's ok. I like cow. I ordered a blued strip, ceaser salad, mashed potatoes and rice pilaf. Decent, but by no means write-home-about (but apparently good enough to write-in-a-blog-about). Then it was back to the hotel for, hopefully, a better night's sleep the previous one.
Cheers.

~KR (13 November 2007)

Listening to:
She by Kiss
on Dressed To Kill

Camera: Canon PowerShot SD850 IS
Exposure: 0.077 sec (1/13)
Aperture: f/2.8
Focal Length: 5.8 mm
ISO Speed: 800
Exposure Bias: 0/3 EV
Flash: Flash did not fire

Up Pompey! Monday, Nov 19 2007 

12 November 2007
I spent the day travelling from mid-US to west-US, and despite gaining two hours in the transit, it still wiped me out. I had a quick bite to eat at a lovely little Italian restaurant called Cecilia's, then settled in for a quick night-time read. Even though my bookclub is currently reading Love in the Time of Cholera I just couldn't bring myself to take the book on the trip. It's actually a surpassingly well-written book. However, at nearly 100 pages in, I'd still to discern a plot, so I've set it aside. I'll finish it someday, I suppose. But having grown up in a time when fiction meant a plot that moves the reader along, I was struggling to enjoy it. So, I brought with me a non-fiction book: Up Pompey!
Up Pompey!
Up Pompey is a fantastic book where "a clueless American sportswriter bumbles through English football," although I believe that Chuck Culpepper is not quite so clueless as he might lead some to believe. I can't quite figure out, and I'm not through reading it yet, whether he's writing to an English audience and trying to prove the validity of "their sport" vs the inanity of "our" sport; or is he writing to an American audience and struggling to point out the superiority of football to American-football. Either way, and I believe however you feel about Associated Football vs American Football, the book is very well written and immensely enjoyable. I shall loan it to Terrill when he's done and look forward to the "Delusional Rant" that will be forthcoming. 🙂
Cheers.

~KR (12 November 2007)

Listening to: Kirstie's by Millish
on Millish

Camera: Canon PowerShot SD850
IS Exposure: 0.8 sec (4/5)
Aperture: f/2.8
Focal Length: 5.8 mm
ISO Speed: 200
Exposure Bias: 1 EV
Flash: Flash did not fire

Wine in the Winerack Monday, Nov 19 2007 

11 November 2007
Ah, a week away and I'm behind again. This post, written on 19 November, belongs to 11 November. A photo of a fine wine rack. The rack was found and purchased on eBay for pennies some years back. It's recently been, once again, filled to capacity by some Gewurtzaminer by Fredricksburg Winery.
Wine Rack
On the wall behind the rack you can make out the Cry of the Clan MacRalph and the slogan for East Wind Games: Ludo Ergo Sum (I play, therefore I am).
Cheers.

~KR (11 November 2007)

Listening to:
Victor, Fly Me to Stafford by My Little Aiport
on the ok thing to do on sunday afternoon is to toddle in the zoo

Camera: Canon PowerShot SD850 IS
Exposure: 0.125 sec (1/8)
Aperture: f/2.8
Focal Length: 5.8 mm
ISO Speed: 800
Exposure Bias: 0/3 EV
Flash: Flash did not fire

Where have all the people gone? Monday, Nov 19 2007 

Where have all the people gone?

18 November 2007

What’s wrong with this picture? 

There’s no crowd of people in it, that’s what!  After a few weeks of very high, sometimes record-breaking attendance at TRF, today looked like this.  Pretty much all day.  Next week, I’ll try to remember to take the same photo, just for contrast. 

There are normally anywhere from two to five thousand people in the gate in the first hour and a half of the day—today’s 10:30 a.m. gate count:  123.  I never heard the final . . . I’m guessing it’ll be well under five thousand total.  It was abysmal.   This photo was taken at about 1 o’clock.  (In a rare period of sunshine enough to make shadows.) 

After the parade! You can see the Pendragon Costumes shoppe in the center of the background.

But, on the bright side, Rick and Frank were there today, and I got to take my morning walkabout with them.  I do miss them!  (That’s Rick’s cloaked back and beautiful silver hair in the photo.) And, my wonderful staff gave me a gift of a lovely goblet from Fellowship Foundry—a glass bowl, set on a beautiful pewter stem decorated in a series of Celtic knots.   I am so grateful for those three excellent sales people!  And that I can call them all friends—even better!

I am back at home, now, with my paperwork all done, and a purring white cat on my lap.  Kyle plans to go to work tomorrow, even though he has continued to have a rough weekend, and isn’t really feeling very well.  His sense of loyalty, much like my own, doesn’t allow for staying home if it isn’t unavoidable.  It’s a whirlwind two weeks we begin here and now!  He better get (and stay) healthy for it, or it won’t be good!  At least we’re both at home this week to help each other stay on track!

~MB