25 September 2007
The Moth cometh.
The day came early, too early for me. Although I’m not averse to getting up early, I’m not used to getting up early and really getting a move on. Today, I had no choice. It was the first day of a three day train-the-trainer session, and I was one of three main trainers-to-be-trained. True that my boss, and our ever present contractor were there but still I felt a certain onus, a responsibility. So, I arrived bright and early to greet our two representatives from the training entity (our new vendor). I also greeted this fine fellow:
moth.
You can’t quite glean his size from the photo, and that fault lies with the photographer (me)! He actually was a quite spectacular fellow. I’ve no idea his species, genus or phylum (is that correct?), but he was magnificent. Sadly, I believe he was also quite dead, or dying, as he didn’t move at all when I touched him. Later in the day he was gone. I don’t know what happened to him (her?). Did he fly off and live out his life, or did some unwitting boot or high-heeled toe take what little remained? Whatever, he was brilliant and beautiful.

UPDATE:
It’s a Banded Sphinx Moth
http://www.silkmoths.bizland.com/efascfas.htm

Cheers.

~KR (25 September 2007)

Watching Scotland v Italy (Rugby)
on Setanta Sports (Delayed)
Current Score 3-0
Time: 2:08

Camera: Canon PowerShot S1 IS
Exposure: 0.04 sec (1/25)
Aperture: f/3.2
Focal Length: 38.6 mm
Exposure Bias: 0/3 EV
Flash: Flash did not fire