Beautiful Bovine in Bluebonnets Tuesday, May 1 2007 

Beautiful Bovine in Bluebonnets

1 May 2007

Happy Birthday, Kellye Beth!  Happy Birthday, Kat!

Happy May Day!

I celebrated May Day by watching a few hundred school kids wade through ankle high mud at Scarborough Renaissance Festival.  Yuck!

Today (and tomorrow) marks the annual “Kid’s Days” event at Scarborough, where school kids come on buses, and in mini-vans, in groups and in families, with and seemingly without chaperones, to “enjoy” Scarborough Faire.  For years, we got away with not having to be there on these days—we could easily show that Pendragon Costumes was unlikely to ever sell anything to the kids, and therefore earn the right to stay closed, and allow someone else with a better chance of making money to use our frontage space.  But, beginning last year, that is no longer an option, and we have no choice but to be there.  The whole site is open, and all merchants are required to participate.  Sucks to be us. 

East Wind Games, however, actually benefitted a wee bit from the day.  We didn’t see very many customers, but we did sell a few things—one of which was even a fairly high dollar item.  The day couldn’t really end soon enough for us, though, and I was headed home by about 2:45 p.m.  The rain which had been falling all day, finally let up just moments before I headed out, and the sun even came out and steamed things up for a few minutes while I was being creative with the bluebonnets.

Speaking of bluebonnets—I am incredibly proud of many of the shots I got today.  I had seen the lovely field of bluebonnets on Sunday night, and had commented that I saw Longhorn cattle grazing amongst them.  But, on Sunday night absolutely all we could think about was getting home.  So, today, when I saw the same potential for cool photos, I pulled over and bravely approached the barbed wire.  This photo I’ve included here, is my very favourite of all of them.  My other really good ones can be seen here.

~MB

Cormac at Attention Tuesday, May 1 2007 

22 April, 2007
The long weekend at faire is over and the dogs know it.
Cormac sits at attention here because he knows he’s just about to “load” into the car for the trip back home.
Cormac at Attention

~KR (22 April, 2007)

Camera: Canon PowerShot S1 IS
Exposure: 0.3 sec (3/10)
Aperture: f/3.2
Focal Length: 44.3 mm
Exposure Bias: 0/3 EV
Flash: Flash did not fire

Beware the Landsknecht! Tuesday, May 1 2007 

21 April, 2007
Saturday the 21st and another day at Scarborough Renaissance Festival. After the previous two weekends and their respective snow & bitter cold, I wasn’t looking forward to this. East Wind Games was having a poor showing, financially, at the festival because, frankly, who wants to sit and play games when your bollocks are freezing?
But, this weekend dawned brisk & warm and it was made the better for my good friend George having left his home in Wisconsin to come visit us for a few days.
George at Scarborough
This is George. I asked him to scowl, and he gave me a scowl…a right royal scowl. Despite the excellence of the subject, the photo didn’t come out quite right, it’s a little too blurry for my taste and I was ultimately disappointed. So, I bipped it a bit with PhotoShop to get this:
A Sketch of George
Cheers.

~KR (21 April, 2007)

Camera: Canon PowerShot S1 IS
Exposure: 0.2 sec (1/5)
Aperture: f/3.1
Focal Length: 20.4 mm
Exposure Bias: 0/3 EV
Flash: Flash did not fire

Arche Dream for Human Kind Tuesday, May 1 2007 

20 April, 2007
I most certainly made up for my lack of photos on the 19th by taking a great many on Friday the 20th. I took the day off work and spent the early part of it running errands for MB who was still feverishly working on clothing for the Scarborough Faire cast as part of her A Wardrobe in Time business. But, that evening, as we had planned for weeks, we went downtown to the Ft. Worth Main Street Arts Festival. This festival attracts many of the country’s greatest artisans from all works of media and the display and potential for beauty and fun is enormous. There are also a great many shows of great diversity; rock, country, clogging, theatre, comedy…it’s all represented at this phenomenal event in Ft. Worth.
Arche Dream for Human Kind
The photo is a snapshot of a moment in the Arche Dream for Human Kind’s 45 minute (or so) allegorical dance production called Balance. It’s worth your time if you ever get the opportunity to see them.
Cheers.

~KR (20 April, 2007)

Camera: Canon PowerShot S1 IS
Exposure: 0.6 sec (3/5)
Aperture: f/3.5
Focal Length: 58 mm
Exposure Bias: 0/3 EV
Flash: Flash did not fire

No Photo Tuesday, May 1 2007 

19 April, 2007
When I started this project, I don’t think I realized the magnitude of commitment involved. I’m not unused to commitments; I’m not unused to photography nor even writing. But, when all three elements are thrown into a must-do daily mix I suppose there will be some days in which failure is going to occur. This day, Thursday, April 19th was one such day. I can make all sorts of excuses as to why there wasn’t a photo taken on this day: dead batteries, exhaustion from a very long day in Philadelphia the day before, a long day at work, whatever. But, they’re just excuses to cover a failure. I failed to take a photo on this day.